I think this is definitely going to be the hardest post to make. I’m not really sure where to begin, but I think the best place to start is to tell you all a little bit about me.

Here goes nothin’.

I grew up in Greeley, Colorado, which is also where I live now with my parents, my little brother, a cat, and two dogs. I am going to be a sophomore in college in the fall, and I am studying music education at the University of Northern Colorado. I have a clarinet emphasis, but I absolutely love the piano and ukulele and play them just as much. I like anything outdoors and love to hike especially. My best friend, and boyfriend, Steven, is in the Navy, so I visit him in California every chance I can.

steven blythe cali

Right now, I am sitting in my hotel room, which is nice and relaxing, but a little boring. Steven has to work today, so I am taking the opportunity to create this blog, which has been an idea in the making for months. I’m not very keen on sharing my writing, so it has been making me nervous. However, I think it will be fun to document my life and share my food mishaps and successes with other gluten-free newbies.

Now about my diagnosis…

My whole life I have struggled with countless stomach aches and pains, and my family and I always thought I just caught a virus. Sometimes the aches wouldn’t go away for weeks, but the second I saw a doctor they seemed to vanish. My mom always said I needed to hear from a professional that I was perfectly okay, and for a while,  I thought that too. I am a very anxious person by nature, and as I got older, I thought nerves were the cause of all my stomach problems. After my graduation from high school, though, things got much worse. I was given the choice to speak at the ceremony, and I took it as a way to face my fears and end my rough year on a good note. I was sick for weeks before, but I figured it would go away after the big event was over and things had settled down. But it didn’t. Everything I ate gave me horrible pain, and because of that, I lost an unhealthy amount of weight. We kept trying different sensitive stomach diets, but everything was making it worse.

Finally, in the second half of my first semester in college, we asked my doctor to test me for Celiac Disease, and my levels were off the charts. Thankfully, my dad also has Celiac Disease, so we already knew what foods were safe and how to cook a few meals that I could eat. The first week of my new diet made most of my aches go away, and I haven’t had pain for more than a couple of days since I was diagnosed.

Even though I had experience with my dad, I still consider myself a newbie. He is content to eat the same things for the most part, but I am not. I constantly want to experiment with new foods and new restaurants, even though it makes me nervous. I have a very limited knowledge of cooking and a college student’s budget, so the recipes I try out are mostly easy and cheap (as cheap as gluten-free can be). Most of the restaurants I share will be in Colorado, but I also want to point out some AMAZING places I’ve eaten while here in California.

bbq wood ranch

I’m very excited for this blog, and I hope it helps you or at least entertains you. I’m glad you are here, and thank you for reading!

Blythe

 

Leave a Reply

