This post is part of the monthly blogging event, Our Growing Edge, and the goal of the event is to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things.

Feature Photo

This month is hosted by Joana from My Gut Feeling. If you would like to check out her blog, click here, and if you would like to submit your own post to the event, click here.

This recipe is perfect for breakfast, dessert, or a snack. It is dairy free, gluten free, egg free, soy free, and can be nut free as well.

I have tried only one other chia recipe, but I decided with summer so near, I would make my own lemonade version. This recipe takes a very short amount of time to prepare, and it keeps me full for hours.

You will need…

Black Chia Seeds
Lemon Juice (Fresh Squeezed or Not)
Honey
Coconut Milk
Blackberries
Almonds

The first step is to mix the base for the chia seeds. Combine 1/2 cup coconut milk, about 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice, and 2 tablespoons honey. The trick to making a good base is to taste it before adding the seeds. If you don’t like the way it tastes alone, you won’t like your pudding. I learned that the hard way! Continue adding lemon and honey until you have the sour/sweet ratio that you like. Mine was pretty even, and it came out great!

After the base is done, add 1/8 cup chia seeds to your base and stir. Then it just needs to be covered and refrigerated overnight. I like to take mine out about 30 minutes after I put it in the fridge to redistribute the seeds a little bit, that way the seeds don’t settle at the bottom. If you don’t have time, you can always mix it in the morning.

In the morning, all you need to do is add toppings!

IMG_0795

For my toppings, I used crushed almonds and blackberries. The sourness of the blackberries complements the lemon, but any fruit would be delicious. I like the crunchiness of the almonds, but they can be left out if you have a nut allergy!

IMG_0796.jpg

 

IMG_0797.jpg

IMG_0799.jpg

Ratings

Tastiness: 9/10
Cost: 8/10 (The chia seeds are a bit expensive, but last forever!)
Difficulty: Easy

I hope you enjoy this recipe, and let me know if you try it at home! 🙂

Leave a Reply

