I miss being able to have ice cream. I’m glad that there are dairy and gluten free options at the store, but it’s never the same. This recipe, though, is as close to soft serve as I can get, and I’ll take it!

I was skeptical when I started seeing all of the banana ice cream recipes, but a few days ago, I was desperate for some ice cream and had a bunch of ripe bananas that needed to be used. I thought it was too good to be true, but guess what…

IT WORKED.

I have found my new favorite food, and it’s guilt free since it doesn’t have any sugar! There is a very distinct banana taste, but if you like banana, this ice cream is perfect. And way less expensive than store bought ice cream!

All you need to make chocolate banana ice cream is…

2 Medium ripe bananas
2 Tablespoons cocoa powder
Chocolate chips (optional)

First, slice up the bananas and freeze them for at least 3 hours. After they are frozen, blend them until they are the consistency of soft serve. It will take a while to blend and will look like it isn’t working, but just keep blending! If the bananas are frozen enough, the ice cream will be ready right out of the blender, but if not, just stick it into a container and freeze it overnight. I made chocolate ice cream by adding the cocoa powder into the blender and topping each serving with chocolate chips.

IMG_0791.jpg

IMG_0814.jpg

IMG_0864.jpg

IMG_0866.jpg

Ratings

Tastiness: 10/10
Difficulty: Very Easy
Cost: 10/10 (Just bananas!)

This recipe was very easy and delicious! I know using bananas for ice cream is not new to most people, but it is new to me! Let me know if you have any other banana ice cream recipes or if you try this one out at home. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

