Since it’s summer and ridiculously hot at the moment, I haven’t been in the mood for anything other than ice cream and salads. I’m sorry for that! Haha. This one is both my mother and I’s favorite so far, and she’s not required to eat gluten free! I count that as a success. It was created by Shannon from The Glowing Fridge, and the link to the original recipe is here.

Ratings:

Difficulty: Very Easy
Cost: 9/10
Tastiness: 10/10

This is one of those salads that doesn’t require any fancy tools or procedures. I love it by itself, but I just discovered an awesome brand of vegan cheese. I put cheese and this salad in a wrap and it keeps me full for hours!

You will need…

1 Can Chickpeas
2 Carrots
2 Stalks of Celery
1 Apple
1/4 of a Red Onion
1 Bunch of Kale
1 T Cilantro
Juice from 1 Lemon
2 T Mustard of Choice
1/2 t Minced Garlic (optional, but recommended!)

I pretty much kept the recipe exactly the same, but I added more kale, lemon, and apple. I also cut down on the mustard a little to let the other flavors come out more.

The hardest part of the recipe is mashing the chickpeas. I just mashed mine with a fork until it looked crumbly!

IMG_1030.jpg

Once the chickpeas are mashed, the other ingredients just need to be chopped into bite size pieces and added! I grated the carrots and tore the kale into small pieces with my hands.

IMG_1031.jpg

After the veggies are in, the mustard, lemon juice and garlic can be mixed in!

IMG_1036.jpg

The colors in this salad are beautiful, and it is delicious on its own, on a sandwich, or in a wrap! If you enjoyed, let me know! I’d love to hear how you made it!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mashed Chickpea and Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

