Recently I have had a hard time waking up, and even after my morning bike ride, I still feel like I could fall asleep standing up. I usually just eat cornflakes and almond milk for breakfast, but I decided that needs to change. I need something that will wake me up and get me through the morning!

I wanted to incorporate protein, healthy fats, and carbs into my breakfast, so I came up with this flaxseed mug cake. It is very light and fluffy, but there is a mealy texture because of the flax. I don’t mind that, though!

Ratings:

Tastiness: 10/10 (Closest thing to cake I’ll eat in the morning! Haha)
Cost: 9/10
Difficulty: Easy

You will need…

1 t Coconut Oil (Melt in mug first. 30 Sec.)
1 Egg
1 t Cinnamon
1/2 t Baking Powder
1 T Agave (I used Raspberry.)
1/4 Cup Flaxseed Meal
A Few Sliced Strawberries (Optional)
Chopped Nuts or Pumpkin Seeds (Optional)

First, melt the coconut oil in the mug. Then add all ingredients except for the strawberries and nuts/seeds and mix! Microwave on high for 1 minute and 30 seconds.

IMG_1278.jpg

I added more agave on the top, and then tossed in the strawberries. Add nuts or seeds to make it a little crunchy!

IMG_1279.jpg

IMG_1280.jpg

I think to make this recipe vegan, you could substitute the egg for a little more coconut oil or a little water. Let me know if you try it out, and I hope you enjoy! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

