This is going to be a short post! I have had a very busy week, and I didn’t have much time to work on this blog. Stay tuned next week for some fun updates, though! I will hopefully be posting my first recipe since my new diagnoses. I’m very excited!

Anyway…

Next month is Celiac Disease Awareness Month, so I wanted to remind myself this month of the cool things this autoimmune condition has brought me after one year!

  1. I have met some awesome people. It’s so nice to know other people with the same difficulties, and I love the support systems that we have. (Paige, you are awesome.)
  2. It has pushed me to learn to cook. Before I was diagnosed, I didn’t like cooking, and I don’t think I ever would have learned without being limited.IMG_0962
  3. I have a blog now. I had always wanted to blog, but I never felt like I had anything to say that would help people. Now I have lots of things to write and share. And with the newest health concerns, I will have even more to write about!
  4. I eat healthier than ever. I have cut out all processed foods, and I eat all whole foods. I don’t think I would have done that without the need to.IMG_0798
  5. I have no problems losing weight. This is a frustration at the moment, but will be a benefit when I’m older, I’m sure. Ha!
  6. I have tried lots of new things. I’ve been to lots of new restaurants, tried lots of new foods, and made my own recipes. This week, I made fish for myself for the first time, which is something I never would have done a few years ago!
  7. It has strengthened me mentally. It has been really hard at times, and I’ve felt left out at many parties/gatherings. But through the experience, I learned that no one really cares if I have to pack my own food, and my good friends will still include me whether I can eat with them or not.IMG_1281
  8. I know exactly what I am putting into my body at all times. Having to read labels constantly gets annoying, but now I know everything that goes in. I know how many macro and micro nutrients I get each day, which is very helpful at times!
  9. It means so much more to me when others cook. Knowing that they spent so much time making me something safe makes me feel loved and appreciated. I think being cooked for is something I definitely took for granted before I was diagnosed. (Shelby, you are great at this. :))
  10. I’m happier and healthier than I’ve been in a while. Finally knowing what causes my problems has helped me to get rid of most of them. I am always thankful that my daily stomach aches are a thing of the past. (I actually wrote this blog post before my new digestive issues had started, but this is still true! Even though I am struggling now, it is not related to celiac disease, and the diagnosis of celiac disease helped me out tremendously! My stomach aches now are caused by different things, but I am working on those too.)

Thank you for reading! If you can relate, comment or send me an email! I’d love to hear from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

