Hello everyone! I am back with a recipe! 😀

I have made big changes these past two weeks, and I am feeling SO much better. First of all, I saw a new neurologist who specializes in dysautonomia. He thoroughly evaluated me, and he was extremely knowledgeable in everything going on in my crazy body. He diagnosed me with migraines, which I wasn’t expecting, and said that as a baby I most likely had cyclic vomiting syndrome. This means that since I was little I have had signs of these sorts of neurologic issues. He confirmed that my knee reflexes are in fact absent, and he is sending me for a brain MRI and some nerve testing soon. He decided that my dysautonomia is most likely caused by something, and he believes that it very well could be autoimmune. Autoimmune conditions run in my family, and I already have one myself, celiac disease. Now the search is on to figure out which autoimmune condition is the problem, which includes more lab work and testing.

Anyway, because I have an autoimmune condition, and because my dysautonomia is most likely tied to a separate condition, I have decided to try the Autoimmune Protocol. The autoimmune protocol is a diet/lifestyle change that is very similar to the paleo diet, but it is much more restrictive. A few days ago, I eliminated all grains, nuts, eggs, seeds, legumes, dairy, nightshade vegetables, and several spices from my diet. I am eating a lot of fish, meat, vegetables, and fruit! Since the elimination, I have felt around 70% better. I am sleeping well, eating well, drinking much more water, and my nausea is almost completely gone. (For comparison, I was only able to eat about 900 calories per day and four cups of water before the changes, and now I am able to eat 1,400 and a full eight cups of water per day.) I don’t feel completely full after eating, and I have normal hunger signals. Each day gets better, and I keep wondering when it will end! I haven’t had this many good days in a row for months. People have even been telling me that my color is returning, and I am so happy! It is a highly restrictive way to eat, but if it helps me this much already, I can’t wait to see where I will be months from now.

Some other good news: I have enrolled in my classes for next fall! I am planning to come back to college, but I will only have four classes. I am just using this next semester to explore some other options that are available to me, and I will only have classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I think a schedule like this one will allow me to keep taking care of myself and healing from whatever condition is behind all of this madness. 🙂

And now onto the main part of this post-the recipe! 🙂

I found this recipe here, and I didn’t change much! I just used my own measurements to work with my oven since it’s a bit touchy!

Ratings:

Taste: 10/10
Cost: 10/10
Difficulty: Easy

You will need…

1 Plantain
1/4 Cup Coconut Oil
Sea Salt

First, preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Melt the coconut oil in the microwave, and blend the plantain and the oil until smooth.

img_0266-1

img_0267-1

Spread the mixture onto a sheet of parchment paper. Try to spread it as evenly as possible, otherwise the edges will burn.

img_0268-1

Bake for 10 minutes, then cut into squares and sprinkle with salt.

img_0270-1

Bake for another 35-45 minutes or until crunchy and dark brown.

img_0278-1

That’s it! These are delicious, and I have a hard time stopping myself from eating the entire pan in one sitting. These crackers are a great source of carbohydrates while on the AIP, and they are very customizable. Adding cinnamon would be a great sweet cracker, or you could add savory spices as well. Green plantains are generally more savory, and the yellow or black ones are more sweet. Pair with spices as you wish!

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do. Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

