Hello friends!

First of all, I wanted to give you all a little update. I have continued to feel better and better each week, and I have successfully gained 24 pounds. I am heavier than I have been in about 3 years, and I am SO glad! I had a really great time this past week. I’ve gotten to see many friends, and I have loved being able to forget for the most part about my stomach! I got to go to the Friday Fest kick-off downtown, which was tons of fun, and I got to hang out with the lovely art guild peeps for the second time. I have an interview at a potential new job this week, and I am getting closer to finding a place to live in the fall. I am very excited and nervous about the new changes, but I am hoping that it will work out. I’m also trying to learn how to use my drawing tablet a little more, so I used it to make the title photo. It is WAY harder than I thought, but it’s a ton of fun too.

img_0496

Art guild painting!

Anyway…

One of my favorite things to do is read, and it is perfect for days when I don’t feel the best, although that is happening less and less!

This month, I read a few books that I really enjoyed, so I thought I would share them with you all. I’m trying to read more to keep myself from spending all of my time on the internet. I hope blogging about my books helps me stay accountable, but I’m not going to stress about providing a detailed review. I want to keep it short and to the point for sanity. 🙂

The first book I read was titled The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health by Emeran Mayer. This book was very scientific, but I found it really easy to understand and follow. It helped me understand just how much good or bad digestion can change our health, and it was a great book for my recent diagnoses. This book explains that while the mind obviously affects our gut, our gut can also affect our minds, and it supports those ideas scientifically. I found it extremely informative, and I would recommend this one to anyone who struggles with GI issues, mental health, or both!

Screen Shot 2017-06-03 at 8.57.40 PM

I also read On the Divinity of Second Chances by Kaya McLaren. This book is about a dysfunctional family (like all of us), and how they overcame the rough patches. The parents’ marriage was falling apart, and their grown children’s lives were not what they expected them to be. “With the help of a group of tap-dancing old ladies, a sensual tango teacher, and a lot of luck, this family is about to learn that everyone gets a second chance which, as McLaren beautifully reminds us in this inspiring novel, is sometimes even better than the first.” This book was a nice break from the longer, more scientific things I had been reading. It was light-hearted, funny, and just unpredictable enough to hold my attention, but not so much that I got angry. 😛 This is a great book for anyone who likes to read, but doesn’t have enough time to sit down and finish a Tolstoy.

Screen Shot 2017-06-03 at 8.57.58 PM

For the past few months, I have been trying to read books based on the TV series Gilmore Girls. Another blogger has compiled a list of every single book Rory Gilmore read throughout the show, which was 339 books total! I have only read 8 so far, but I am determined to finish them all sometime in my lifetime! I usually just go down the list and pick a random letter or title that sounds good. This month, I read Terms of Endearment by Larry McMurtry. I really enjoyed the book, but I found the excerpt on the back to be a little misleading. Here’s what it said:

“Aurora is the kind of woman who makes the whole world orbit around her, including a string of devoted suitors. Widowed and overprotective of her daughter, Aurora adapts at her own pace until life sends two enormous challenges her way: Emma’s hasty marriage and subsequent battle with cancer. Terms of Endearment is the Oscar-winning story of a memorable mother and her feisty daughter and their struggle to find the courage and humor to live through life’s hazards — and to love each other as never before.”

Screen Shot 2017-06-03 at 8.57.17 PM

It seemed that the plot would follow both characters evenly, but most of the book was about the mother. I didn’t mind that too much, but it wasn’t what I was expecting. Emma’s battle with cancer was about 40 pages at the end of the book, which I thought was way too abrupt. It left me disappointed because of how hasty it was, although I guess that’s how life works out most of the time.  I really want to see the movie of this book, though. I’d be interested to see how different they are, and if they included some of the funny scenes. This book was pretty lighthearted as well, and I did enjoy it quite a bit.

Have you all read any good books lately? Anything you’d recommend? I’d love to hear from you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

